Thousand Oaks Library
About The LibraryCatalogLocal News IndexSpecial CollectionsSupport OrganizationsKids' CornerTeenSpace
Historical PhotosCalendarResearchAsk A LibrarianPurchase SuggestionsMy AccountContact UsFeatured Lists
 
Databases Header
Homework Help Take a Survey

A collection of specialized databases and web sites selected by Thousand Oaks Librarians.

Available everywhere with a library card Available from home        Available only in library Available only in Library       Recommended Web Resources Web Resources

Gale Educational and Homework Gateway
 
Online Tutors & General Homework Help
Search local, state and national full-text articles on issues, events, business, government, health and more with over 1,400 news sources, newspapers, videos, newswires, and web-only content including the Daily News (10/1/85-Current), Ventura County Star (1997-Current), and USA Today (7/1/87-Current).
Online tutor service available daily from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m. (Kindergarten and up).
American history from 1493 to the present including original speeches, poems, interviews and writings of more than 1,500 influential authors in multiple formats. Topics include American democracy, education, business and labor, and the arts.
Available anywhere with a library card search tips
Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics with profiles of more than 143, 000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights.  
Ed2go Available everywhere with a library card
Ed2go offers a wide range of interactive courses that can be taken entirely over the Internet. All courses are free and led by expert instructors. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.  

The classic encyclopedia, recreated online with content including animation, sound files, video clips, daily updates, and content from current periodicals.
For students K-8, includes thousands of images, videos, and statistics to research virtually any topic. Other resources include research guides, learning activities for English & language arts, the sciences, the Social Sciences, timelines on various topics, and an online dictionary and thesaurus.
Available everywhere with a library card
The Educational and Homework Gateway is a collection of online databases from a variety of publishers and selected electronic books (eBooks) drawn from the Gale Virtual Reference Library.  

Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages.  

Math, reading and writing skills building modules, GED preparation, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT practice exams, AP practice exams, and more...  
Math learning database appropriate for ages 6-14 with topics ranging from counting exercises to algebra. Difficulty of questions asked is interactively based upon demonstrated skill level of student.
Available everywhere with a library card
History, Science, Literature, and other core subjects are covered in millions of periodical and newspaper articles, primary source entries, multimedia records, and other materials.
World Book Discover Available everywhere with a library card tutorial
Offers refgerence articles, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, research tools, multimedia, and interactive video. This resource is designed for middle to high school english learners.  
World Book Early World of Learning Available everywhere with a library card tutorial
A teaching tool for teachers or parents of preschoolers and children in the early elementary grades. The Early World of Learning uses narrated stories with word-by-word highlighting, interactive games, interactive reference material for beginners, and more to help young learners build vocabulary, comprehension, phonics, and reading fluency.  

World Book InfoFinder Available everywhere with a library card tutorial
Designed to meet research needs of upper-elementary and middle school aged students. In addition to the complete World Book Encyclopedia, it also offers learning resources for educators, research tools and ideas for science projects.  

Available everywhere with a library card tutorial
Dictionary, quick facts, atlas, activities, encyclopedia articles for elementary school children.  

World Book Online Reference Center Available everywhere with a library card tutorial
All articles from the current 22-volume edition of the World Book Encyclopedia, including World Book Kids, World Book Student, World Book Advanced, and Encyclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos.  
Literature
Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics  

Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline  

Thousands of full-text poems, short stories (including explanations and biographies) and full-text essays and discursive writing  
Science
Curriculum focused full-text articles on key topics, with ideas for science experiments

Full-text articles with photos and graphics on top news on sciences for middle school students through college  

Designed to meet research needs of upper-elementary and middle school students. In addition to the complete World Book Encyclopedia, it also offers learning resources for educators, research tools and ideas for science projects.  
Social Issues
Search local, state and national full-text articles on issues, events, business, government, health and more with over 1,400 news sources, newspapers, videos, newswires, and web-only content including the Daily News (10/1/85-Current), Ventura County Star (1997-Current), and USA Today (7/1/87-Current).

Topic overviews designed to meet the research needs of students, supported with full-text articles from newspapers and magazines, statistical charts, government data, images, and links to reviewed websites  

Back to the top